Chinese Astrology vs Western Astrology

Being the oldest form of astrology in the world,

Guest Posting

 the Chinese astrology is complex and completely personal astrology reading from the astrological system in the West. Each year in its 60-year rotation is relegated to one of the 12 zodiac animals and the five elements which characterize Chinese astrology. These 12 zodiac animals and their associated categories provide wider insight into Chinese cosmology. Since the astrology is complex and quite complicated, the Western mind may not readily comprehend its symbolism and value.

In order, the Chinese animal signs which comprise the astrology are the Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat or the Sheep, Monkey, Rooster or Chicken, Dog and the last of the twelve, the Pig. As the Chinese always say, “This is the animal that lies in your heart”. Chinese astrology recognizes five basic elements, Metal, Water, Wood, Fire and Earth. Each element is related to a season, color, organ, direction and other attributes of the material and human existence. Their further calculation involves the popular Yin and Yang (or Yin-Yang), it is the ‘Ultimate Principle of All Matter’. In Chinese astrology, the destiny is also a more common factor than the individual determinism of Western astrology.

Unlike the system of sun signs, Chinese astrology does not bother about the position and movements of the planets to make prescient remarks and predictions. The Chinese astrologers study the resources present in the earthly environment and establish the interconnectivity between nature and man. They were obsessed with finding out what made the heavens move and also how their movement affected humans on earth.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *